SVdP Diocesan Council

The Diocesan Council is the St. Vincent de Paul organization supporting and coordinating the work of all the Conferences of St. Vincent de Paul in the Columbus, Ohio Diocese. Council membership comes from members of the conferences. The sixty-two currently active conferences are organized into nine District Councils.

We are located in the Diocesan office building at 197 E. Gay St. Columbus, Ohio, 43215. Contact us:
By phone:    614-221-3554

By email:    Administrative Assistant: 

    Council President: Tony Jones [email protected]

Council Projects

The Diocesan Council helps Conferences address the needs of the poor. The Council provides:

  • Gatherings for spiritual growth and friendship
    • April: Top Hat Award Mass and Dinner (postponed due to Stay at Home Order)
    • August: Sunday of Recollection (watch for further information due to coronavirus restrictions)
    • September: Friends of the Poor Walk/Run  (watch for further information due to coronavirus restrictions)
    • December: the Bishop’s Appreciation Mass.
  • Training for members,
    • January: Bridges out of Poverty Construct Training cohosted with Mount Carmel Health System
    • January and October (typically): Ozanam Training for new members of our Conferences
    • November: Presidents’ Training
  • Support and counsel for conferences, which includes:
    • Voice of the Poor the legislative advocacy activity focused on issues impacting our neighbors who are living in poverty
    • Diocesan Council Web Site
  • Special Works of the Council
    • Bishop Griffin Resource Center is a food pantry and social service center serving our neighbors living in poverty on Columbus' far East side.
    • Housing Facilities in Newark OH include a men’s shelter with a food pantry and thrift store.
    • St. Lawrence Haven, serving the hungry with a sack lunch five days a week. 
    • The Saturday Food Program delivering food to homebound and other needy families. 
    • Clothing Distribution Center providing free clothing for the most needy of people.
    • Funeral Fund, offering a supportive donation for those who die with no means for burial.
    • Men's Shelter of Delaware County will be a men's shelter with staff to help men who are released from from the the Delaware County Jail transition to life after incarceration.


The Diocesan Council differs from the Conferences because we have no Fifth Sunday collections. We rely on the conferences, and occasional grants for funding. Volunteers from the conferences provide staffing for our ministries. 

Diocesan Vincentians serve on the Council Board. Current board membership is:

Diocesan Council Officers:

  • President: Tony Jones
  • 1st Vice-President: Bill Heinmiller
  • 2nd Vice-President: Nancy Thatcher
  • Secretary: 
  • Treasurer: Janet Jobko
  • Immediate Past President: Warren Wright
  • Past President: Bill Sparks
  • At Large - Young Adult: Will Matson
  • At Large - Alejandra Leon
  • Spiritual Advisor: Fr. Charles Klinger


Directors - District Council Presidents:

  • East: Bill Heinmiller
  • East Rural: John Harsh
  • East Southeast: Ed Weber
  • North Central: Jerry Nieman
  • North Northwest: Danita Podach
  • North Northeast: Nancy Thatcher
  • South Rural: David Lanning
  • South Southwest: Garnett Purnell
  • Inner City: Marie Placide


Committee Chairs:

  • Ozanam Orientation: Maureen Meck
  • Voice of the Poor: 
  • Youth: William and Jennifer Matson
  • 2019 Friends of the Poor Walk/Run: 
  • Publicity: 


Administrative Staff:

  • Executive Secretary: 
  • Director of St. Lawrence Haven & the Free Clothing Center: Heather Swiger